Aiteo Cup: Kano Pillars make history after 29 years of wait

Nigerian Football News By: Ikponmwosa Umweni | 29/07/2019

Kano Pillars have made history after ended their 29 years wait to win 2019 Aiteo Cup after a 4-3 penalty shootout victory over Niger Tornadoes at the Ahmadu Bello Stadium on Sunday.

Masu Gida who have reached the finals twice in 1990 and 2018 before finally broke their duck with a hard-fought victory.

Skipper Rabiu Ali, Bature Yaro, Victor Dennis and Emmanuel Anyanwu converted the penalties for Pillars, while Ayo Adetola of Niger Tornadoes missed the decisive kick in sudden death.

This triumph will make up for the Kano team’s last year loss when they surrendered a three-goal lead in the cup final to Enugu Rangers, who went on to win on penalties.

Pillars dominated today’s cup final but poor finishing, resolute defending by Niger Tornadoes and the brilliance of goalkeeper and captain Mustapha Aliko combined to ensure no goals were scored after 90 minutes of action.

Four-time Nigeria champions Pillars, who were runners-up in the NPFL this past season, will represent the country in the 2020 CAF Champions League.

Beaten cup finalists Tornadoes will thus feature in the CAF Confederation Cup as a result.