Algerian coach shortlisted with Mane & Salah for FIFA Award

International Edition By: Ikponmwosa Umweni | 31/07/2019

The 2019 Africa Cup of Nations winning Coach Djamel Belmadi has been nominated for the FIFA Award alongside with Sadio Mane and Mohammed Salah.

Belmadi is the only African Coach in the 10-man among the name released by FIFA on Wednesday for Coach of the Year award, while Didier Deschamps, Pep Guardiola, Jurgen Klopp, Tite, Marcelo Gallardo and Fernando Santos also nominated.

Liverpool duo of Mane and Salah will compete with Barcelona captain Lionel Messi, Juventus superstar Cristiano Ronaldo, Real Madrid signing Eden Hazard for the men's prize at the 2019 Best Fifa Football Awards.

Meanwhile, Phil Neville is a contender for the Women’s Coach of the Year after a fine spell with the Lionesses.


The Best FIFA Men’s Coach nominees: Djamel Belmadi (ALG) – Algeria national team, Didier Deschamps (FRA) – France national team, Marcelo Gallardo (ARG) – River Plate, Ricardo Gareca (ARG) – Peru national team.

Pep Guardiola (ESP) – Manchester City, Jurgen Klopp (GER) - Liverpool, Mauricio Pochettino (ARG) – Tottenham Hotspur, Fernando Santos (POR) – Portugal national team, Erik ten Hag (NED) – Ajax, Tite (BRA) – Brazil national team.

The Best FIFA Men’s Player nominees: Lionel Messi (ARG) – FC Barcelona, Cristiano Ronaldo (POR) – Juventus, Frenkie de Jong (NED) – Ajax / FC Barcelona, Matthijs de Ligt (NED) – Ajax / Juventus.

Eden Hazard (BEL) – Chelsea / Real Madrid, Harry Kane (ENG) – Tottenham Hotspur, Sadio Mane (SEN) – Liverpool, Kylian Mbappe (FRA) – PSG, Mohamed Salah (EGY) – Liverpool, Virgil van Dijk (NED) – Liverpool.

The Best FIFA Women’s Player nominees: Lucy Bronze (ENG) – Olympique Lyonnais, Julie Ertz (USA) – Chicago Red Stars, Caroline Graham Hansen (NOR) – Wolfsburg / FC Barcelona.

Ada Hegerberg (NOR) – Olympique Lyonnais, Amandine Henry (FRA) – Olympique Lyonnais, Sam Kerr (AUS) – Chicago Red Stars / Perth Glory, Rose Lavelle (USA) – Washington

Spirit, Vivianne Miedema (NED) – Arsenal, Alex Morgan (USA) – Orlando Pride, Megan Rapinoe (USA) – Reign FC, Wendie Renard (FRA) – Olympique Lyonnais, Ellen White (ENG) – Birmingham City / Manchester City.

The Best FIFA Women’s Coach nominees: Milena Bertolini (ITA) – Italy national team, Jill Ellis (USA) – USA national team, Peter Gerhardsson (SWE) – Sweden national team, Futoshi Ikeda (JPN) – Japan U-20 national team.

Antonia Is (ESP) – Spain U-17 national team, Joe Montemurro (AUS) – Arsenal, Phil Neville (ENG) – England national team, Reynald Pedros (FRA) – Olympique Lyonnais, Paul Riley (ENG) – North Carolina Courage, Sarina Wiegman (NED) – Netherlands national team.