Amuneke names 23-man Tanzania squad for AFCON 2019

African Football By: Ikponmwosa Umweni | 12/06/2019

Amuneke reacts after qualifying Tanzania to 2019 AFCON

Tanzania head coach Emmanuel Amuneke has named his final 23-man squad for the 2019 Total Africa Cup of Nations.

The Taifa Stars were the first to arrive in Egypt will be led by Genk hitman Mbwana Samatta and Farid Mussa of Tenerife in Spain as a chunk of players in the side are picked from their local Tanzania Premier League.

Amuneke reacts after qualifying Tanzania to 2019 AFCON

AFCON: Amuneke set history with Tanzania after 39-year wait

PHOTOS: Lawmaker leads Amuneke, others back to the pitch

Tanzania returned to Africa Cup of Nations after a 39-year wait to qualifier for the biggest tournament in the continent.

The Taifa Stars are drawn in Group C alongside Kenya, Algeria and Senegal and will open their campaign against Taranga Lions on Sunday, June 23, 2019.

Full Squad

Goalkeepers: Aishi Manula (Simba SC), Metacha Mhata (Mbao FC) and Aron Lulambo (TZ Prisons)

Defenders: Hassan Ramadhan (Nkana FC), Gardiel Michael (Young Africans), Mohammed Hussein (Simba SC), Ally Mtoni (Lipuli FC), Vincent Phillipo (Mbao FC), Erasto Nyoni (Simba SC)

Midfielders: Himid Mao (Petrojet FC), Feisal Salum (Young Africans), Frank Domayo (Azam FC), Kelvin Yondani (Young Africans), Mudathir Yahya (Azam FC), Farid Mussa (Tenerife), Simon Msuva (Difaä El Jadid),

Strikers: John Bocco (Simba SC), Thomas Ulimwengu (JS Saoura), Mbwana Samatta (Genk), Rashid Mandawa (BDF), Abdillanie Mussa (Blackpool), Yahya Zayd (Ismailia)