CAF CL draw: Ajayi draw Esperance, Chikatara faces Sundowns - FCNaija

Caf Club Cups By: Ambrose Udeme | 21/03/2018

Wydad boss Benzarti praises Chikatara after  Cup triumph - FCNaija

Super Eagles duo Junior Ajayi of Al-Ahly and Chisom Chikatara of Wydad Casablanca of Morocco have been draw against African football powerhouses Esperance of Tunisia and South Africa's Mamelodi Sundowns in group A and C respectively following Wednesday's group stage draw of the 2018 Total CAF Champions League held at the Ritz Carlton in Cairo.

Ajayi who is currently in the Super Eagles camp ahead of Nigeria's international friendly fixtures against Poland and Serbia will also come up against KCCA of Uganda and Township Rollers from Botswana in the other Group A fixture.

CAF Confed. Cup draw: Nigerian sides kept apart - FCNaija

Chikatara who was a revelation at the 2014 CHAN tournament before joining the Moroccan will also face AS Port (Togo) and Horoya of Guinea who complete the quartet of teams in Group C as they aim to defend the title they won last term.

The former Abia Warriors striker was on the winning side as Wydad Casablanca saw off Congo DR side TP Mazembe 1-0 to emerge Champions of the 2018 CAF Super Cup at the Complexe Mohamed V in Casablanca last month.

2015 CAF U-23 Champion Godspower Aniefiok and his Tunisian side Etoile du Sahel were drawn in group Group D against, Zesco United (zambia), Primeiro de Agosto (Angola) and Mbabane Swallows (Swaziland).

The qualified teams were ranked according to their performances in the last five editions of the CAF Interclubs competitions (2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013).

The points allotted are winner – 6, runner-up-5, semi-final – 4, quarterfinal – 3, third in group – 2 and fourth in group - 1, multiplied by a co-efficient of 5,4,3,2,1 for the editions 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014 and 2013 respectively.

Four Pots were subsequently established for the Total CAF Champions League.

Pot 1: TP Mazembe (DR Congo), Al Ahly (Egypt), Etoile du Sahel (Tunisia), Wydad (Morocco)

Pot 2: Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa), Zesco (Zambia), Esperance (Tunisia), ES Setif (Algeria)

Pot 3: MC Alger (Algeria), KCCA (Uganda), Horoya (Guinea), Mbabane Swallows (Swaziland)

Pot 4: Primero de Agosto (Angola), Township Rollers (Botswana), Difaa El Jadidi (Morocco), AS Port (Togo)