Copa del Rey: Suarez out of final, blasts referee

Copa Del Rey By: Ambrose Udeme | 08/02/2017

Barcelona striker Luis Suarez has slammed referee Jesus Gil Manzano after a controversial red card ruled him out of Copa del Rey final.

Luis Suarez's first half strike handed Barcelona a 3-1 aggregate lead at half time after last week's 2-1 first leg win at the Vincente Calderon stadium but a late rally by the visitors through Kevin Gameiro with Antoine Griezmann providing the assist accounted for a mere consolation as Barcelona won 3-2 on aggregate to go to the finals.

The former Liverpool striker was set to be a Nou Camp hero as his goal edged Barca past Atletico Madrid in to a fourth consecutive Spanish Cup showpiece but his mood soon changed when he was handed a second yellow card in stoppage time after being adjudged to have elbowed opposing defender Lucas Hernandez.

Suarez in a post match reaction as quoted on football-espana said: "My red card? We know how everything goes here. It wasn’t even a foul. I just turned and it seemed [my sending-off] was what [the referee] wanted.

We’ll see what the club can do if they appeal it. I laugh at the red card. These are things that can’t be explained, but we’re used to it.

“Still, we knew it would be a complicated match and that Atletico wouldn’t make it easy for us."

Sergi Roberto also saw red as Barca finished the highly-charged semi-final clash with NINE MEN, while Arsenal and Chelsea target Yannick Carrasco was dismissed for the visitors.

And Atletico will feel they should have taken the tie to extra-time after dominating for large periods – as well as having Antoine Griezmann’s goal wrongly disallowed for offside.