Electoral Committee rollout timetable for NFF elections

Nigerian Football News By: Ambrose Udeme | 16/05/2018

Those aspiring for seats on the Executive Committee of Nigeria Football Federation can begin to actually get ready as sale of forms will begin on Monday, 21st May 2018.

At a press conference in Abuja on Wednesday, the NFF Electoral Committee headed by Mohammed Sani Katu disclosed that sale of forms, endorsements of the same and return of the forms will hold between the period Monday, May 21 and Monday, June 4. This is as far as the process will go before the Russia 2018 FIFA World Cup finals, at which Nigeria’s Super Eagles is one of the 32 participating teams.

Screening of candidates will take place between Thursday, July 19 and Saturday, July 21, 2018, after the FIFA World Cup finals. Names of successful candidates will be released two days after the last day of screening - on Monday, July 23.

Unsuccessful candidates would be able to file their protests/appeals between Tuesday, 24th July and Thursday, 26th July, while the same will be heard on Friday, 27th July and Saturday, 28th July.

The final list of candidates for the elections will be made public on Monday, July 30, 2018, with the elections to hold on Saturday, September 29, 2018. This, according to Katu, would be subject to approval by the Congress of Nigeria Football Federation and any amendments to the NFF Statutes 2010, in view of the NFF Bill that is in process.

The members of the NFF Electoral Committee and the NFF Electoral Appeals Committee for the forthcoming elections were elected at the NFF General Assembly that held in Jos, Plateau State on Thursday, October 19, 2017. It was at one of its recent meetings that the electoral panel elected Mohammed Sani Katu as its chairman.

Katu heads the electoral body that also has Sani Salawu, S. C. A. Umeha, Olusola Oke and Mohammed Manzo as members, while the NFF General Secretary, Mohammed Sanusi, is the secretary. Standby members are Isong Isang and Mohammed Aliyu Sambo.

A. U. Mustapha (Senior Advocate of Nigeria), who is also President of the CAF Appeals Panel, heads the NFF Electoral Appeals Committee, with Mojeed Adegbindin and Gbwen Alex Gbejule as members, and NFF Head of Legal Unit, Okey Obi, as secretary. Standby members are Emma Ochiagha and Mohammed Zanna Mala.
1