Ex-Man City star & Zaha named in Ivory Coast AFCON squad

African Football By: Ikponmwosa Umweni | 30/05/2019

Former Manchester City striker Wilfried Bony, Wilfred Zaha and Nicolas Pepe named in Ivory Coast's provisional squad for 2019 Africa Cup of Nations as in-form Gervinho dropped.

The Elephants coach Ibrahim Kamara called-up the 30-year-old star after he was included in the 27-man list for the upcoming African tournament in Egypt.

Bony spent the end of the season on loan at Qatar's Al-Arabi, where he scored five goals in their final seven league matches, but he was released from his parent club Swansea City in May and ex-Premier League returned to the national setup for the first time since the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations in Gabon.

Ivory Coast will begin preparations for the tournament in Chantilly, northern France, on May 31, which will conclude with a friendly match against Comoros on June 7 before the coach will trim down the list to 23 as Ibrahim Kamara side make a trip to Abu Dhabi for a final camping from June 10 to 20, during which two friendly matches will be played against Uganda and Libya.

The Elephants are drawn against Morocco, South Africa and Namibia in Group D.

Ivory Coast provisional squad:

Goalkeepers: Sylvain Gbohouo (TP Mazembe, DR Congo), Abdoul Cisse (Asec Mimosas), Ali Badra (Free State Stars, South Africa), Tape Ira (FC San Pedro).

Defenders: Serge Aurier (Tottenham Hotspur, England), Wilfried Kanon (ADO Den Haag, Netherlands), Wonlo Coulibaly (Asec Mimosas), Abdoulaye Bamba (Angers, France), Simon Deli (Slavia Prague, Czech Republic), Ismael Traore (Angers, France), Mamadou Bagayoko (Red Star, France), Cheikh Comara (Wydad Casablanca, Morocco)

Midfielders: Jean-Philippe Gbamin (Mainz, Germany), Serey Die (Neuchâtel Xamax, Switzerland), Jean-Michael Seri (Fulham, England), Victorian Angban (Metz, France), Franck Kessie (AC Milan, Italy) , Ibrahim Sangare (Toulouse, France), Ismael Diomande (Caen, France)

Forwards: Max-Alain Gradel (Toulouse, France), Nicolas Pepe (Lille, France), Wilfried Zaha (Crystal Palace, England), Jonathan Kodjia (Aston Villa, England), Roger Assale (Young Boys Bern, Switzerland), Maxwell Cornet (Lyon, France), Yohan Boli (Sint-Truiden, Belgium), Wilfried Bony (unattached)