FIFA include more teams to play in World Club Cup

International Edition By: Iseghohi Odianosen | 15/05/2018

FIFA has included more team to play in the World Club Cup, under the new modification Real Madrid and Barcelona will be among the 12 European representatives to contest in the Super Club World Cup.

The first edition of the tournament will take place in 2021 and it will consist of 24 teams and it will be held every four years in June.

The competition will knock off the Club World Cup and the Confederation Cup.

The rest of the European clubs are Bayern Munich, Ajax, Milan, Liverpool, Manchester United, Inter Milan, Juventus and Paris Saint-Germain, who are sure to participate, while the other two teams will come from a group formed by Manchester City, Chelsea, Atletico Madrid, Porto Benfica and Borussia Dortmund.

South Americans will have four or five clubs, while Asia, Africa and North America would have two teams each.

 Oceania would have its representative playoff against the fifth best-placed team in South America, with the host team completing the quota of 24.

In addition, the host nation will not have to be the country of the subsequent World Cup, as is the case with the Confederations Cup.