Guardiola miss out another award despite winning treble

European News By: Iseghohi Odianosen | 30/10/2019

Manchester City manager Pep Guardiola was omitted from the list of the candidate for the coach of the year prize at the Globe Soccer Awards despite winning a treble last season.

Jurgen Klopp, Massimiliano Allegri, Erik ten Hag, Fernando Santos and Djamel Belmadi were all nominated for the gong.

Guardiola won the Premier League, FA Cup and the Carabao Cup but he was omitted from the final five.

The 11th Globe Soccer Awards, organized by the European Association of Player's Agents and the European Club Association, will be staged on December 29 in Dubai.

The nominees were selected by a jury of international football coaches, directors and chairmen, including Luis Figo, Fabio Capello, Antonio Conte, and Eric Abidal.

Real Madrid set asking price for Premier League target Isco

Real Madrid identify Chelsea star as Pogba's alternative

Real Madrid release squad for Madrid derby

Guardiola set for Sane exit, tips Spanish ace as replacement

Klopp guided Liverpool to Champions League trophy in June and also gave Guardiola a good run for his money in the race to win the Premier League last season.

Ten Hag, meanwhile, is among the candidates after his exciting Ajax side made it through to the semi-finals of the Champions League, his team knocked out both Real Madrid and Juventus before losing to Tottenham in the final four.

Allegri was a surprise inclusion in the list following his departure from Juventus, though he won five Serie A titles his reign was marred by his inability to win the Champions League.

Cristiano Ronaldo leads the nominees for the Men's Best Player of the Year award alongside nemesis Lionel Messi, Bernardo Silva, and four Liverpool stars.

Sadio Mane, Mohamed Salah, Alisson and Virgil van Dijk all find themselves in the running. 

Jadon Sancho is among the nominees for Best Revelation of the Year. The Borussia Dortmund winger faces competition from Erling Haaland of Red Bull Salzburg, Barcelona's Ansu Fati, Kai Havertz of Bayer Leverkusen and Atletico Madrid's Joao Felix.

Liverpool, Ajax, and Lyon's women's team are in the running for Club of the Year.