Iwobi, Musa & Ighalo battle for Player of the Year Awards

Nigerian Football News By: Ikponmwosa Umweni | 01/04/2019

Arsenal forward Alex Iwobi, Al-Nassr winger Ahmed Musa and Shanghai Greenland Shenhua striker Odion Ighalo are battling for Nigerian Player of the Year Awards for men billed to hold at the Eko Hotel & Suites, Victoria Island, Lagos on Monday night.

The Nigeria Football Federation on Sunday announced the shortlist for the Men and Women's Player of the Year Awards according to the body, about 150 journalists were chosen across the country to vote through an electronic system.

The nominations for this year’s Aiteo NFF Award -the second edition was from performances from the date of the last year’s awards in February 2018 till the last 2019 Africa Cup Of Nations qualifier.

The trio have been in good form for both their respective clubs and country in the year in review, while Ighalo topped the scorers chat at the 2019 Africa Cup Of Nations qualifier with seven goals Musa was also instrumental to Nigeria recording their only win at the 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia.

Iwobi on his part has also been in good form for Arsenal equaling his best ever tally for the Gunners this season bagging three goals but Chelsea loanee Kenneth Omeruo and Leicester City midfielder Wilfred Ndidi were controversially left out of the three-man shortlist

Barcelona star Asisat Oshoala has made the Women's list along with Francisca Ordega and Onome Ebi and the three players were part of the Super Falcons squad at the 2018 AWCON in Ghana.

In the Goal of the Season category, Musa's second strike against Iceland, Ighalo's third goal vs Libya and Kelvin Itoya's rocket vs Kano Pillars in the AITEO Cup final have been shortlisted.

Villarreal's Samuel Chukwueze, Sporting Charleroi's Victor Osimhen and Galatasaray's Henry Onyekuru are in the running for the Young Player of the Year Male, while Rasheedat Ajibade, Chiamaka Nnadozie and Anam Imo are on the Women's list.

Super Falcons coach Thomas Dennerby, Bayelsa Queens’ Moses Aduku and Wemimo Matthew of Sunshine Queens were the three women coaches shortlisted for the award while Gernot Rohr, Solomon Ogbeide of Lobi Stars FC and Rangers of Enugu gaffer Gbenga Ogunbote are nominees coach of the Year in the men’s category.

Also, gongs will be presented to the Team of the Season, Fairplay Award, Goal of the Season, Fans of the Season, NFF Development Award, NFF Order of Merit Award, Lifetime Achievement Award and Platinum Award categories.

There will be special recognition of a ‘Legends Eleven,’ a squad of outstanding former Nigeria international players. Last year’s gong went to the 1973 set of Green Eagles that won Nigeria’s first major honour – the gold medal of the football event of the 2nd All-Africa Games that held in Lagos