Nigerian side Akwa United unveil 16 new players - FCNaija

NPFL By: Linus Onyeze | 07/01/2018

Akwa United on Saturday, presented 16 new players ahead of the new NPFL season.

The ‘Promise Keepers’ – as they are called – unveiled the players at their Godswill Akpabio Stadium home ground, with prominent names like Victor Mboama, Etim Matthew and Ajibola Otegbeye being part of those unveiled.

Mboama, Etim and Otegbeye were signed from Remo Stars, Rangers and Sunshine Stars respectively.

The 2017 Aiteo Cup winners have also signed Enyimba defensive midfielder Kelly Kester, Adeshina Gata from ABS FC and defender Gabriel Wassa from Rivers United.

Winger Etboy Akpan has also joined from NK Rudar of Slovenia.

The Uyo club finished fourth in the league last season and they will feature in this year’s CAF Confederation Cup after they won the country’s cup competition.

The new signings

Ubong Easien ( Soccer Academy)  Defensive Midfielder

Emmanuel Charles ( Akwa Starlets)  – Defensive Midfielder

Daniel Ekpo ( Rivers United) – Winger

Etboy Akpan ( NK Rudar, Slovenia) – Winger

Kenneth James ( El-kanemi Warriors)  – Striker

Aminu Nuhu ( Adamawa United) – Attacking Midfielder

Aniekeme Asuquo ( Akwa Starlets) – Attacking Midfielder

Katoh Haggai ( GBS Academy, Jos) – Attacking Midfielder

Gabriel Wassa ( Rivers United) – Left full back

Yenne Tenton ( GBS Academy,  Jos) – Winger

Kelly Kester (Enyimba) – Defensive midfielder

Victor Mbaoma ( Remo Stars) – Striker

Ajibola Otegbeye ( Sunshine Stars)

Adeshina Gata (ABS) – Winger

Denis Nya ( Lobi Stars) – Central  Defender

Etim Mathew ( Rangers) – Right full back