NPFL Round UP: Insurance hold Enyimba as MFM loss in Kwara

NPFL By: Ikponmwosa Umweni | 08/04/2019

Bendel Insurance held Enyimba in Aba as MFM lost to Kwara United in Ilorin in the Nigeria Professional Football on Sunday.

The Peoples Elephant could not take the home advantage as they were held to a 0-0 draw at home by the Benin Arsenal, while Shamsudeen Hashim scored the decisive goal for the home team in the 54th minute to beat Olukoya Boys 1-0. 

Enugu base side Rangers secured a 1-0 win over Katsina United at the Nnamdi Azikiwe Stadium after Seka Pascal found back of the net 17 minutes but the win sees Flying Antelope moved to the second position in the log table two point behind Group A leaders MFM.

Wikki Tourists need to work hard at home to win 2-1 against Remo Stars at the Pantami Stadium after Isa Gata put the hosts ahead three minutes before the break, while Victor Chidume levelled scores for Remo Stars in the 62 minutes before Abdullahi Musa scored the winning goal a minute before the regulation time for the Bauchi team.

In Port Harcourt, Rivers United extended their unbeaten run two games following a 1-0 win against Niger Tornadoes at the Yakubu Gowon Stadium with Wasiu Jimoh got the winning in the 31st minute of the keenly contested encounter.

Akwa United returned to the first position in Group B after a comfortable 2-0 win against Gombe United at the Akwa Ibom International Stadium, Uyo with Cyril Olisema scored the opener from the spot in the 74th minute before Wisdom Fernando secured three-point for the home side.

Kano Pillars defeated El-Kanemi Warriors 2-1 at the Sani Abacha Stadium courtesy of two fine strikes from Gambo Muhammed and David Ibuka before Bello Kofarmata scored the away side only goal of the game from the spot kick.

Plateau United and Heartland battled to a 0-0 draw in Jos, while Delta Force also held their hosts Yobe Desert Stars to a barren draw in Damaturu.

Adeshina Thomas netted the winner in Nasarawa United’s 1-0 win against FC Ifeanyi Ubah in Lafia.

For this season’s abridged NPFL league, the top three teams in Group A and B after 22 games will compete in a Super six tourney to pick the champion.