OFFICIAL! Juventus win 7th straight Serie A title

Serie A By: Ayodeji Tunde | 13/05/2018

FC Naija

Juventus are Serie A champions again as they claimed the title for a seventh straight season on Sunday following a 0-0 draw at Roma.

The trophy had been all-but-mathematically decided last weekend when second-placed Napoli dropped points, and the result at the Stadio Olimpico on the penultimate matchday ended all doubt.

No other Italian side has won more than five straight domestic titles, and Juventus' run of seven matches Lyon's from 2002-2008 for the most consecutive all-time in Europe's top five leagues.

It also completed a fourth successive league and cup double for Juventus, who had beaten AC Milan 4-0 in the Coppa Italia final in the same stadium on Wednesday.

Needing only a draw to lift the Scudetto once again, Juventus got the result they needed against Roma, who saw Radja Nainggolan sent off in the second half to dent any hopes of prolonging the celebrations in Turin.

Juve's Paulo Dybala had a goal ruled out for offside in a close decision and also had late penalty appeals waved away.

Napoli managed a 2-0 win at Sampdoria with goals in the second half from Arkadiusz Milik and Raul Albiol, but now trail Juventus by four points ahead of the final weekend.