Premier League new boys Wolves sack Nigerian star, 11 others

Naija Players Abroad By: Ambrose Udeme | 21/05/2018

Wolverhampton Wanderers have confirmed their end-of-season retained list following the conclusion of the 2017/18 Championship campaign with a Nigerian descent in the list of dismissed stars.

Hakeem Odoffin is one of 12 youngsters that have been released at the end of their contracts as preparations for Wanderers’ Premier League campaign step up while Super Eagles' safe hands Carl Ikeme who is undergoing cancer treatment was retained.

Confirming their release as published by the club on its official website, Sporting Director Kevin Thelwell said: "A lot of difficult decisions need to be made at this time of year. The fact that we’re releasing these players is no reflection on them as there are some really good footballers there.

"We’d like to wish them all the very best for the future and we’re going to all we can to try and help them find success in football or in sport moving forward.

"Wolves would like to thank all departing players for their efforts while at the club and wish them the best of luck moving forward."

The list according to the club has been submitted to the EFL as the club prepares for the 2018/19 Premier League season.

The following players have come to the end of their contracts and will not be offered new deals: Jordan Allan, Dan Armstrong, Anthony Breslin, Nicu Carnat, Ross Finnie, Jon Flatt, Conor Levingston, Tomas Nogueira, Hakeem Odoffin, Adam Osbourne, Ryan Rainey and Jose Xavier.