Rivers United opponent KCCA to arrive Nigeria on Sunday

Caf Club Cups By: Ambrose Udeme | 18/06/2017

Rivers United opponent KCCA to arrive Nigeria on Sunday

Freshly crowned FUFA Uganda Cup winner, Kampala Capital City Authority Football Club (KCCA FC) will leave for Nigeria, Port Harcourt on Sunday morning for the CAF Confederation Cup Group A tie against Rivers United.

The tie that is slated for Tuesday June 20th 2017 is the fourth for both teams in the competition and a win for KCCA FC will brighten the side’s chances of making the knockout stages.

Skipper Denis Okot will be pivotal defensively as the reigning League  Champions will be aiming at picking their maiden point away from home.

We need to play for a result, a draw would be good enough for us but if a win came then we will celebrate it more and build on that

Okot told before revealing what with be needed for KCCA FC to leave Nigeria with a result they want

We must find the back of the net, we can crest chances our strikers can score goals, a goal can turn things around for us.

Okot also revealed that defensive discipline will be key for the side, something they have not managed in the three games of Group stages.

Much as we want to to score goals, it’s key for us to keep a clean sheet, I know it will be hard but we must try as a team to frustrate the attacks of Rivers United.

KCCA FC have not done bad infront of goal on the continent as striker Derrick Nsibambi has netted four times for KCCA FC in the CAF Confederation Cup, two of those goals were against Rivers United in Kampala.

´┐╝Mutyaba Muzamir weaves through Rivers United midfield during the first leg at the Phillip Omondi Stadium. KCCA won the match 2-1.

Geoffrey Serunkuuma has also scored four times for KCCA FC in the CAF Champions League, although he is yet to find the back of the net on the continent.

KCCA FC players travelling to Nigeria: Benjamin Ochan, Denis Okot, Timothy Awany, Paul Musamali, Bukenya Lawrence, Isaac Muleme, Vincent Kayizzi, Muzamir Mutyaba, Tom Masiko, Derrick Nsibambi, Geoffrey Sserunkuuma, Douglas Kisembo (GK), Habib Kavuma, Denis Rukundo, Paul Mucureezi, Ivan Ntege, Allan Okello, Julius Poloto