latest football news in Nigeria

Russia 2018: Falcao tops Colombia's provisional squad

International Edition By: Ayodeji Tunde | 15/05/2018

FC Naija

The Colombian Football Federation announced on Monday a provisional list of 35 players for the 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia.

One of the notable inclusion is star forward Radamel Falcao, who missed Brazil 2014 due to injury.

Also, included in the squad are 11 veterans of the 2014 World Cup, among them are James Rodriguez, David Ospina, Carlos Sanchez, Abel Aguilar and Cristian Zapata.

Russia 2018: Increased doping ban knocks out Peru captain

Argentina name Messi, 34 others in pre-World Cup list

Colombia will line-up in Group H at Russia 2018 where they will face Japan (19 June), Poland (24 June) and Senegal (28 June).

All squads are provisional until the final list of 23 players is announced by FIFA, following their submission by participating teams, on 4 June.

Colombia squad

Goalkeepers: David Ospina (Arsenal/England), Camilo Vargas (Deportivo Cali), Ivan Arboleda (Banfield/Argentina), Jose Fernando Cuadrado (Once Caldas).

Defenders: Santiago Arias (PSV Eindhoven/Netherlands), Frank Fabra (Boca Juniors/Argentina), Davinson Sanchez (Tottenham/England), Cristian Zapata (AC Milan/Italy), Yerry Mina (Barcelona/Spain) Johan Mojica (Girona/Spain), Bernardo Espinosa (Girona/Spain), Oscar Murillo (Pachuca/Mexico), Farid Diaz (Olimpia/Paraguay), Stefan Medina (Monterrey/Mexico), William Tesillo (Leon/Mexico).

Midfielders: Abel Aguilar (Cali), Wilmar Barrios (Boca Juniors/Argentina), James Rodriguez (Bayern Munich/Germany), Carlos Sanchez (Espanyol/Spain), Jefferson Lerma (Levante/Spain), Giovanni Moreno (Shanghai Shenhua/China PR), Juan Fernando Quintero (River Plate/Argentina), Edwin Cardona (Boca Juniors/Argentina), Juan Guillermo Cuadrado (Juventus/Italy), Gustavo Cuellar (Flamengo/Brazil), Sebastian Perez (Boca Juniors/Argentina), Mateus Uribe (America/Mexico)

Forwards: Radamel Falcao (Monaco/France), Carlos Bacca (Villarreal/Spain), Duvan Zapata (Sampdoria/Italy), Miguel Borja (Palmeiras/Brazil), Jose Izquierdo (Brighton/England), Luis Muriel (Sevilla/Spain), Teofilo Gutierrez (Junior), Yimmi Chara (Junior).