latest football news in Nigeria

Simeone beats Ranieri, Zidane to coach of the year award

La Liga By: Collins Udeme | 27/12/2016

Simeone beats Ranieri, Zidane to coach of the year award

Atletico Madrid manager Diego Simeone has beaten Real Madrid's Zinedine Zidane to become 2016 IFFHS' (International Federation of Football History & Statistics) manager of the year.

Other awards have been given out by the federation in recent days, with Manuel Neuer receiving the Best Goalkeeper award, while Fernando Santos won the Best National Team Manager accolade after leading Portugal to Euro 2016 glory during the summer.

READ MORE: Rohr out as ex-Eagles coach is named 2nd best in the world

Simeone's Atletico finished behind both Barcelona and Real Madrid in the 2015-16 La Liga, and lost in the Champions League final to Zinedine Zidane's side. His side topped their Champions League group ahead of Bayern Munich this year but are currently nine points behind league leaders Real.

Despite his side's ultimate shortcomings, Simeone has still managed to finish ahead of Zidane, whose Real side are currently three points clear at the top of La Liga with a game in hand.

​Squawka report that Claudio Ranieri comes in third after leading Leicester to an unprecedented Premier League triumph last season, while Pep Guardiola's stints at Bayern Munich and Manchester City see him waltz in at fourth.

Unai Emery gets fifth place after leading Sevilla to another Europa League triumph before moving to PSG, while Luis Enrique finds himself in sixth despite Barcelona's La Liga triumph of last season.