Southgate names 27-man squad for 1st ever UEFA Nations final

European News By: Ikponmwosa Umweni | 16/05/2019

​England manager Gareth Southgate has named  27-man provisional squad for the inaugural UEFA Nations League finals next month, with Leicester City playmaker James Maddison missing from the list, while captain Harry Kane included despite missing the last few weeks of the domestic club season with an ankle injury.

Southampton winger Nathan Redmond has also been rewarded with a call-up after the strong domestic form, while Fabian Delph, Joe Gomez, Jesse Lingard and Harry Winks are all involved after missing the March internationals through injury.

Bournemouth striker Callum Wilson and West Ham midfielder Declan Rice keep their places, but there is still no room for highly-rated Crystal Palace right-back Aaron Wan-Bissaka.

England qualified for the first ever Nations League finals alongside Netherlands, Switzerland and Portugal with The Three Lions taking the Dutch in the second semi-final in Guimaraes on 6 June, 24 hours after Portugal and Switzerland meet in the first semi-final in Porto.

However, Southgate has confirmed that a reduced 23-man squad will be confirmed by Monday 27 May.

Full Provisional 27-Man England Squad for UEFA Nations League Finals:

Goalkeepers: Jack Butland (Stoke), Tom Heaton (Burnley), Jordan Pickford (Everton)

Defenders: Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Ben Chilwell (Leicester), Joe Gomez (Liverpool), Michael Keane (Everton), Harry Maguire (Leicester), Danny Rose (Tottenham), John Stones (Man City), Kieran Trippier (Tottenham), Kyle Walker (Man City)

Midfielders: Dele Alli (Tottenham), Ross Barkley (Chelsea), Fabian Delph (Man City), Eric Dier (Tottenham), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Jesse Lingard (Man Utd), Declan Rice (West Ham), James Ward-Prowse (Southampton), Harry Winks (Tottenham)

Forwards: Harry Kane (Tottenham), Marcus Rashford (Man Utd), Nathan Redmond (Southampton), Jadon Sancho (Borussia Dortmund), Raheem Sterling (Man City), Callum Wilson (Bournemouth)