Three EPL stars make UEFA team of the year for 2018

Europe By: Ikponmwosa Umweni | 12/01/2019

Three Premier League players make Union of European Football Association (UEFA) team of the year for 2018 as Liverpool forward Mohamed Salah missing from the list.

Chelsea duo of Eden Hazard and N'Golo Kante and Reds defensive marshall Virgil van Dijk, who arrived Anfield one year ago.

UEFA have named their full squad for Team of the Year for 2018 with the final team was revealed on Friday night after a month of voting which saw 1.8m votes cast in total with five-time Ballon d'Or winners Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi led the pack of the starting line up with a 4-3-3 formation comprising players in the Premier League, La Liga, Serie A and Ligue 1.

Real Madrid and Barcelona players dominated the list while Chelsea, Liverpool, Juventus and Paris Saint-Germain filled the other slots.

Barcelona's shot-stopper Marc Andre ter Stegen takes the gloves, after 2018 which saw him miss just one match for his club and brought the year to an end with four consecutive clean sheets.

Real Madrid's Marcelo and Sergio Ramos were drafted into the wing-back positions while French World Cup winner Raphael Varane and Liverpool's Virgil Van Dijk hold the central-defensive role while FIFA best player of 2018 Luka Modric and Chelsea's duo of Kante and Hazard will man the three-man midfield.

The three fearsome front three of Messi, Ronaldo and France wonderkid Kylian Mbappe completing the first XI after the trio who won more votes than any of his attacking counterparts.