What David Luiz said after the foul against Lucas Hernandez

Champions League By: Iseghohi Odianosen | 28/09/2017

What David Luiz said after the foul against Lucas Hernandez

David Luiz has admitted he committed a blunder by bringing down Atletico Madrid’s Lucas Hernandez during their Champions League clash in Wanda Metropolitano on Wednesday.

Luiz praised his team for the victory over Atletico Madrid and was delighted for the Blues reaction after his error that handed Diego Simone’s men the lead in the first half.

He said: "It was a great performance. We controlled the game against one of the best teams in the last few years in the Champions League.

"We showed character, were calm and didn't lose our passion or style of football when we went 1-0 down.

Man Utd legend slams Chelsea star despite the victory in UCL

"Yes I did a foul to stop him (Lucas Hernandez), I pulled his shirt and in the rules, it is a penalty but if the referee gives this he has to give many.

"We have four more games to play in the group and if we get to 12 points, that should be enough for us to qualify.

"Our next two Champions League matches are against Roma, but let's go game by game and keep our feet on the ground because it is never easy in the Champions League."

The Blues will entertain Manchester City in the Premier League at the Stamford Bridge on Saturday.