The Ballon d’Or list is expected to be released later today and the anxiety is real as fans are in support of their various candidates to win the individual award.

The award is presented annually and it is awarded to individuals whose body deems fit, for the award after meeting certain criteria it is presented by “France Football”.

This year, the gala will be held on 17 October at the Théâtre Châtelet in Paris, as in previous years.

Here we take a look at the Real Madrid players that have won the award since its inauguration.

La Liga hopeful react after naming Super Eagles star as club captain

Real Madrid star turns boat manager and fisherman after retirement

The award has been dominated by two players in recent years thanks to Luka Modric who broke the dominance of Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo in 2018.

From its inception only seven Real Madrid players have won the award, they include  Alfredo Di Stefano, Raymond Kopa, Luis Figo, Ronaldo Nazario, Fabio Cannavaro, Cristiano Ronaldo and Luka Modric.

This year’s nominees will be revealed on Friday, 12 August where the list of candidates will be presented to the fans but last season’s performance of Real Madrid attacker Karim Benzema said it all and he is been tipped by many for the award even by his opponents’ fans.

Benzema guided Real Madrid to the LaLiga Santander, the Spanish Super Cup and the Champions League with 44 goals and 15 assists.

The attacker beat household name players to the award with the likes of Cristiano Ronaldo (24 goals and 3 assists), Leo Messi (11 goals and 15 assists), Robert Lewandowski (50 goals and 7 assists) and Luka Modric (3 goals and 12 assists).

Should the Real Madrid attacker win the Ballon d’Or, Benzema would become the eighth player to win it for Real Madrid and would be Los Merengues’ 12th Ballon d’Or winner.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here