The CAF Awards 2022 had come and gone but not without leaving us with memories. Just  before we go into details, here are some quick bitesize facts off the 2022 awards.

  • Nigeria’s Asisat Oshoala won a record-breaking fifth CAF Player of the Year Award. Oshoala became the first-ever woman to win this Player of the Year accolade five times.
  • Senegal star Sadio Mane emerged as the winner of the CAF Player of the Year Men’s categories.
  • Mane was voted ahead of his compatriot,  Edouard Mendy and former Liverpool teammate, Mohammed Salah to win the continent’s most prestigious individual accolade.
  • Moroccan outfit, Wydad AC claimed the Club of the Year Award for the second successive time in Men’s category.
  • For the Men’s Coach of the Year, Senegal’s Aliou Cisse who guided the Teranga Lions to their first ever AFCON title was predictably voted ahead of former Egypt coach Carlos Quieroz and Wydad’s Walid Regragui.
  • For the Coach of the Year in the Women’s category, Desiree Ellis with her giant strides with South Africa’s Bayana Bayana was voted winner once more.

 Full list of winners 

Player of the Year (Women)

Ajara Nchout Njoya (Cameroon & Internazionale Milano)

Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Barcelona) WINNER 

Grace Chanda (Zambia & BIIK Kazygurt)

Player of the Year (Men)

Edouard Mendy (Senegal & Chelsea)

Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)

Sadio Mane (Senegal & Bayern Munich) WINNER

Interclub Player of the Year (Women)

Andile Dlamini (South Africa & Mamelodi Sundowns)

Bambanani Mbanie (South Africa & Mamelodi Sundowns)

Evelyn Badu (Ghana & Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies/Alvaldsnes) WINNER

Interclub Player of the Year (Men)

Achraf Dari (Morocco & Wydad Athletic Club)

Aliou Dieng (Mali & Al Ahly)

Mohamed El Shenawy (Egypt & Al Ahly) WINNER 

Young Player of the Year (Women)

Doris Boaduwaa (Ghana & Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies)

Evelyn Badu (Ghana & Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies/Alvaldsnes) WINNER 

Yasmine Zouhir (Morocco & AS Saint-Etienne

Young Player of the Year (Men)

Hannibal Mejbri (Tunisia & Manchester United)

Karim Konate (Cote d’Ivoire & ASEC/RB Salzburg)

Pape Matar Sarr (Senegal & Tottenham Hotspur) WINNER

Coach of the Year (Women)

Bruce Mwape (Zambia)

Desiree Ellis (South Africa) WINNER

Jerry Tshabalala (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Reynald Pedros (Morocco)

Coach of the Year (Men)

Aliou Cisse (Senegal) WINNER

Carlos Queiroz (Egypt)

Walid Regragui (Wydad Athletic Club)

Club of the Year (Women)

AS FAR (Morocco)

Hasaacas Ladies (Ghana)

Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa) WINNER

Club of the Year (Men)

Al Ahly (Egypt)

RS Berkane (Morocco)

Wydad Athletic Club (Morocco) WINNER

National Team of the Year (Men)



Senegal WINNER


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here